Para-Badminton Classifications

Official Para-Badminton Classifications (Impairment groupings).

Para-Badminton, like other para-sports, uses a classification system to ensure that players with a similar level of impairment compete against each other.

The Badminton World Federation recognises six classification groups, as listed below:


Physical Disability Classifications


Classification Name

Typical Examples of Impairment Types

Team England Para-Badminton stars



Spinal injury causing impairment to upper limbs/trunk


Multiple Sclerosis

Connor Dua-Harper
Owen Kilburn
David Follett



Spinal Injury causing lower impairment to upper limbs/trunk

Spina Bifida

Above knee amputation necessitating use of a wheelchair

Sharon Barnes
Gobi Ranganathan
Martin Rooke



Single Above Knee amputation

Double Below Knee amputation

Cerebral Palsy

Daniel Bethel



Single Below Knee amputation

Cerebral Palsy

Hip dysplasia

Leg length difference (of minimum 7cm)

Antony Forster
Bobby Griffin
Daniel Lee


Upper limb amputation

Upper limb impairment – e.g brachial plexus injury

James Binnie

Short Stature


Short Stature/dwarf condition – e.g. achondraplasia

Dylan Beaumont
Rebecca Bedford
Rachel Choong
Ollie Clark
Krysten Coombs
Isaak Dalglish
Andrew Martin
Jack Shephard


These classifications are used in all international Para-Badminton play, and all sanctioned BADMINTON England Para-Badminton tournaments.

For further details on classification, please visit the Badminton World Federation website.


Non-BWF Classification Groups

4 Nations Para-Badminton Series tournaments, and some BADMINTON England sanctioned Para-Badminton Circuit tournaments, can include a Learning Disability section.

This is open to players with with an IQ of 75 or lower and who have been identified as having a learning disability by a relevant agency or professional.

There is also an international playing pathway for deaf and hearing impaired badminton players. These opportunities are managed by GB Deaf Badminton