2009 All News

BWF Council

Nora Perry elected to BWF Council

ENGLAND'S former world champion Nora Perry was today elected to the Council of the Badminton World Federation.

She polled the fifth highest number of votes with 213 behind former Chinese star Li Lingwei's 225.

It will mean that England have a voice at world level in the countdown to the London Olympics in 2012.

BADMINTON England Chief Executive Adrian Christy said: "I am delighted that we were successful in our efforts to gain a BWF Council position following elections at the AGM in China on Sunday.

"Nora polled the fifth highest number of votes. This is an outstanding achievement for our organisation and Nora will do a great job representing our interests and exerting the influence on the BWF that we desperately need.

"It is also the culmination of more than two years lobbying and influencing and I very much look forward to Nora's active participation on Council."

The BWF's annual meeting in Guangzhou also re-elected Dr Kang Young Joong as its President for a new four-year term

Attended by 131 Member Associations, Kang, from Korea, polled 162 votes to defeat challenger Dato’ Seri Andrew Kam Tai Yeow of Malaysia who garnered 70 votes.

“For the past four years only my passion and love for the sport has sustained me and I would like to record my gratitude to the membership for giving me the mandate to serve them for another four years,” said Kang who will serve for the 2009-2013 term.

“The message from the membership is clear and my colleagues and I will continue our efforts to promote, improve and elevate badminton to greater heights.

“Development is one area that we want to focus on and we need to look at how to serve the developing and yet to be developed nations better.”

The BWF membership also gave a resounding support to Paisan Rangsikitpho who clinched the No 2 post at the expense of Australia’s Robin Bryant, a former Vice President of the Federation.

Gregory Veerpoorten of Belgium was elected as Vice President (Olympic Relations) while, under the new BWF constitution, another five Vice Presidents were each elected from the five continents of Africa, Asia, Europe, Pan Am and Oceania.

They are Larry Keys (Badminton Africa Confederation), Vishwa Kumar Verma (Badminton Asia Confederation), Torsten Berg (Badminton Europe), Gustavo Salazar (Pan Am) and Nigel Skelt (Badminton Oceania).

Other members of Council elected were Li Lingwei (China), Justian Suhandinata (Indonesia), Mehdi Karbasian (Iran), Sergey Shakhray (Russia), Etienne Thobois (France), Nora Perry (England), Surasak Songvarakulpan (Thailand), Jun Yan Wu (Chinese Taipei), Wayne Somers (Canada), David Cabello (Spain), Junichiro Yamada (Japan), Lawrence Chew (Switzerland), Peter Gacheru (Kenya), Lim Teong Kiat (Malaysia), Peter Tarcala (Slovakia), Raj Gaya (Mauritius), Ranjit de Silva (Sri Lanka).

Dr Kang Young Joong (Korea) 162 votes
Dato’ Seri Andrew Kam Tai Yeow (Malaysia) 70 votes

Deputy President:
Paisan Rangsikitpho (USA) 167 votes
Robin Bryant (Australia) 59 votes

Vice President (Olympic Relations)
Gregory Veerpooten (Belgium) 166 votes
Leon Douglas (Scotland) 63 votes

Council: Li Lingwei (China) 225, Justian Suhandinata (Indonesia) 221, Mehdi Karbasian (Iran) 218, Sergey Shakhray (Russia) 217, Etienne Thobois (France) 215, Nora Perry (England) 213, Jun Yan Wu (Chinese Taipei) 207, Wayne Somers (Canada) 203, David Cabello (Spain), Junichiro Yamada (Japan) 188, Peter Gacheru (Kenya) 181, Lawrence Chew (Switzerland) 181, Lim Teong Kiat (Malaysia) 180, Peter Tarcala (Slovakia) 176, Raj Gaya (Mauritius) 161, Ranjit de Silva (Sri Lanka) 160.