Skip to Content


Team GB stars seeded for Rio 2016 Games

Team GB stars seeded for Rio 2016 Games

Team GB stars Kirsty Gilmour and Rajiv Ouseph will travel to Rio as seeded players for next month’s Games following the unveiling of Olympic seedings.

The singles specialists are two of just seven Europeans given a seeding for this summer’s showpiece.

Gilmour, the European silver medallist, has been named 11th seed in a women’s singles draw topped by reigning World Champion Carolina Marin (Spain).

England number one Rajiv Ouseph, who was also seeded in London four years ago, has been handed 13th seed in the men’s singles draw which is led by Lee Chong Wei, runner up at the last two Olympic Games.

Reigning Olympic and YONEX All England champion Lin Dan is seeded third.

As seeded players, both Gilmour and Ouseph will now each head up one of 13 groups for the first round of competition in their respective disciplines.

With only four pairs seeded in each of the three doubles events, world number seven pair Chris and Gabby Adcock have narrowly miss out on a seeded berth. Reigning champion Zhang and Zhao are top seeds in the mixed doubles event.

Team GB duos Chris Langridge and Marcus Ellis (men’s doubles)  and Lauren Smith and Heather Olver (womens doubles) will be paired to face seeded rivals when they are allocated into one of four groups in their respective events during draw takes place on Tuesday (26 July).

Korea’s Lee Yong Dae and Yoo Yeon Seong head the men’s doubles seedings whilst reigning YONEX All England champions Misaki Matsutomo and Ayaka Takahashi have top billing in women’s doubles.

 GB badminton squad 2016 Rio

The full Team GB badminton squad heading to Rio: men’s singles: Rajiv Ouseph; women’s singles Kirsty Gilmour; men’s doubles: Chris Langridge & Marcus Ellis; women’s doubles Heather Olver & Lauren Smith; mixed doubles Chris & Gabby Adcock.

For more information about badminton at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games click here.

See all the stars of Rio in Birmingham next March!
Tickets for the YONEX All England Open Badminton Championships 2017 at the Barclaycard Arena are now on general sale.

Click here to buy your tickets now.