Skip to Content


Six seek success in Tour Finals

The England squad are looking forward to the showdown in Bangkok this week, as all our players that travelled to Thailand qualified for the HSBC BWF World Tour Finals.

After a phenomenal performance last week, reaching the TOYOTA Thailand Open quarterfinals, Ben Lane and Sean Vendy have reached the end of year showpiece for the first time.

They will be joined in the men’s doubles by Marcus Ellis and Chris Langridge. Chloe Birch and Lauren Smith will compete in the women’s doubles and Smith joins Ellis for the mixed doubles too.

Having defeated the world number six pair from Indonesia, Fajar Alfian and Muhammad Rian Ardianto, the boys have proved their worth on the world stage over the past few weeks.

They eventually fell to second seed Indonesian stars Mohammad Ahsan and Hendra Setiawan, 21-14, 21-13.

Ellis and Langridge had previously lost to the same pair in their opening match.

There were exits in the first half of the tournament too for Ellis and Smith in the mixed and Smith and Birch in the women’s however they knew the court time at a Super 1000 event was exactly the platform they needed in order to test their performance levels after such a turbulent 2020.


Focus now turns to the re-arranged World Tour Finals which get underway on Wednesday.

In the mixed doubles, Smith and Ellis find themselves in a tough group A, alongside Thailand’s Dechapol Puavaranukroh/Sapsiree Taerattanachai, Indonesia’s Praveen Jordan/Melati Daeva Oktavianti, and Korea’s Seo Seung Jae/Chae YuJung.

Both our men’s doubles pairings find themselves in Group A where they will face Lee Yang/ Wang Chi-lin of Chinese Taipei and Ong Yew Sin and Teo Ee Yi of Malaysia.

Smith and Chloe Birch find themselves in Group B of the women’s doubles, where they will face Korea’s Kim So Yeong and Kong Hee Yong, Germany’s Linda Efler and Isabel Herttrich and home pair Jongkolphan Kititharakul and Rawinda Prajongjai.

You can watch LIVE on BT Sport: 

HSBC BWF World Tour Finals
Day 1 – 27/1 - BT Sport 3 – 05:00 – 14:30
Day 2 – 28/1 - BT Sport 3 – 05:00 – 14:30
Day 3 – 29/1 - BT Sport ESPN – 05:00 – 14:30
Semi-Finals 1 – 29/1 - BT Sport ESPN – 03:00 – 08:30
Semi-Finals 2 – 30/1 - BT Sport ESPN – 10:00 – 15:30
Finals – 31/1 - BT Sport 3 – 06:00 – 11:30