Skip to Content


Ouseph named among BOA's Athletes of the Year

Ouseph named among BOA's Athletes of the Year

The British Olympic Association (BOA) has today announced the full list of recipients of the 2010 Olympic Athlete of the Year trophy.

The award was introduced in 2005, to mark the BOA’s Centenary Year, and the success of London being awarded the 2012 Olympic Games. The BOA presented a trophy to each of the 33 summer and winter Olympic sports for them to award on an annual basis to their top performing athlete of the year.

To mark outstanding performances in 2010, the following athletes have been awarded the BOA Olympic Athlete of the Year trophy:

Aquatics - Rebecca Adlington
Archery - Alison Williamson 
Athletics - Mo Farah
Badminton - Rajiv Ouseph
Basketball - Pops Mensah Bonsu
Boxing - Tom Stalker
Canoeing - Ed McKeever
Cycling - Emma Pooley
Equestrian - Laura Bechtolsheimer
Fencing - Chrystall Nicoll 
Gymnastics - Beth Tweddle 
Handball - Holly Lam-Moores 
Hockey - Helen Richardson 
Judo - Euan Burton
Modern Pentathlon - Sam Weale
Sailing - Ed Wright 
Shooting - Elena Allen 
Table Tennis - Liam Pitchford
Taekwondo - Jade Jones
Tennis - Andy Murray 
Triathlon - Jonathan Brownlee
Volleyball - Nathan French 
Weighlifting - Peter Kirbride
Wrestling - Myroslav Dykun
Biathlon - Lee-Steve Jackson
Bobsleigh/Skeleton - Amy Williams 
Curling - Eve Muirhead
Luge - AJ Rosen
Skating - Sinead and John Kerr
Skiing - Andrew Musgrave

*Ice hockey, football and rowing are yet to announce their Olympic Athlete of the Year for 2010.

Andy Hunt, BOA Chief Executive said:
“Undoubtedly the British Olympic highlight of 2010 was Amy Williams’ outstanding performance on the Whistler Sliding Centre where she claimed Olympic gold for Team GB in such fantastic style. The skeleton slider became Britain’s first individual Winter Olympic Champion for 30 years and inspired the millions of Team GB fans watching on TV across the UK.

“Throughtout 2010, athletes from all 26 summer Olympic sports continued to prepare themselves for the once in a lifetime opportunity presented by a home Olympics in London in 2012. During this year we have seen many well-established sports continue to excel at World and European Championship level, while other sports have demonstrated great progression in their ambition of competing with the very best in 2012.

“During 2010 many young athletes have produced thrilling breakthrough performances and it’s particularly encouraging to see so many young athletes named by their sports as the Olympic Athlete of the Year – none more so than taekwondo athlete Jade Jones who made history by becoming Britain’s first Youth Olympic Champion at the inaugural Youth Olympic Games in Singapore in August.

“The award of the Olympic Athlete of the Year trophy recognises the dedication, commitment and excellence of athletes who represent the very best of British talent in their respective Olympic sports. I wish all the award winners the very best as they continue their preparations for London 2012, Sochi 2014 and beyond.”