LaneVendy 1200 1

The seedings have been announced for the upcoming National Badminton Championships, which will take place at the National Badminton Centre over the weekend of August 21-22.

Reigning men’s singles champion Alex Lane will enter as top seed as he looks to defend his title, with the 2020 runner-up Johnnie Torjussen going in as second seed.

Harry Huang and Ethan Rose complete the top four, with Heng Lin Ngan, Kaylan Jensen, Cholan Kayan and Sid Palakkal rounding off the first eight seeds.

Freya Redfearn, beaten by Chloe Birch in last year’s women’s singles final, will go in as top seed in the discipline this time around with Birch absent.

Georgina Bland, fresh from her victory in the Senior Gold, is seeded second while Abigail Holden and Emily Beach are also in the top four seeds.

Olympians Ben Lane and Sean Vendy, now back from Tokyo, will take top billing in the men’s doubles ahead of Callum Hemming and Steven Stallwood, who are seeded second.

In the women’s doubles, Jenny Moore and Viki Williams are top seeds as they look to go one better than last year, when they were beaten in the final by Birch and Lauren Smith.

Jess Hopton and Jess Pugh are second seeds while Pugh is a place higher in the mixed doubles seedings, going in top alongside Callum Hemming.

The full seedings are below.

Men’s Singles

1 – Alex Lane

2 – Johnnie Torjussen

3 of 4 – Harry Huang

3 of 4 – Ethan Rose

5 of 8 – Heng Lin Ngan

5 of 8 – Kaylan Jensen

5 of 8 – Cholan Kayan

5 of 8 – Sid Palakkal

Women’s Singles

1 – Freya Redfearn

2 – Georgina Bland

3 of 4 – Abigail Holden

3 of 4 – Emily Beach

5 of 8 – Amy Hayhoe

5 of 8 – Pamela Reyes

5 of 8 – Estelle Van Leeuwen

5 of 8 – Rosemary Allen

Men’s Doubles

1 – Ben Lane/Sean Vendy

2 – Callum Hemming/Steven Stallwood

3 of 4 – Matthew Clare/Ethan Van Leeuwen

3 of 4 – Rory Easton/Zach Russ

Women’s Doubles

1 – Jenny Moore/Viki Williams

2 – Jess Hopton/Jess Pugh

3 of 4 – Grace King/Annie Lado

3 of 4 – Kiara Henry/Pamela Reyes

Mixed Doubles

1 – Callum Hemming/Jess Pugh

2 – Rory Easton/Annie Lado

3 of 4 – Greg Mairs/Jenny Moore

3 of 4 – William Jones/Abigael Harris

Recent posts

Back to news