On Thursday, 11 August, the Rio 2016 badminton competition gets underway and here we tell you all you need to know if you want to follow our Team GB stars.

The eight British players will have been dreaming of this moment for years and for the last week have had to watch on from the sidelines as many of the world’s best athletes showcase their talent.

But now it is the badminton players’ turn and it will be women’s doubles pair Heather Olver and Lauren Smith who set Team GB on their way when they take on Malaysia’s Vivian Kah Mun Hoo and Woon Khe Wei, which is scheduled for 11.55am Rio time and 3.55pm BST.

World number seven pairing Chris and Gabby Adcock are set to be next up at around 8.40pm BST as they begin their extremely difficult group against London 2012 silver medallists Xu Chen and Ma Jin.

The group stages of the badminton runs from Thursday until Sunday at the Riocentro Pavilion 4 and you can see all of the Team GB matches below, while you can also read more about their draws here.

Thurs, Aug 11 3.55pm – Vivian Kah Mun Hoo/Woon Khe Wei (MAS) v Heather Olver/Lauren Smith (GBR)

Thurs, Aug 11 8.40pm –Xu Chen/Ma Jin (CHN) v Chris Adcock/Gabby Adcock (GBR)

Thurs, Aug 11 9.25pm – Mathias Boe/Carsten Morgensen (DEN) v Marcus Ellis/Chris Langridge (GBR)

Thurs, Aug 11 11.55pm – Rajiv Ouseph (13) (GBR) v Petr Koukal (CZE)

Fri, Aug 12 1.05am – Kirsty Gilmour (11) (GBR) v Sabrina Jacquet (SUI)


Fri, Aug 12 1.35pm – Joachim Fischer Nielsen/Christinna Pedersen (4) (DEN) v Chris Adcock/Gabby Adcock (GBR)

Fri, Aug 12 3.20pm – Kim Gi Jung/Kim Sa Rang (3) (KOR) v Marcus Ellis/Chris Langridge (GBR)

Fri, Aug 12 7.30pm – Nitya Krishinda Maheswari/Greysia Polii (3) (INA) v Heather Olver/Lauren Smith (GBR)

Sat, Aug 13 2.45pm – Chris Adcock/Gabby Adcock (GBR) v Robert Mateusiak/Nadiezda Zieba (POL)

Sat, Aug 13 7.30pm – Marcus Ellis/Chris Langridge (GBR) v Adam Cwalina/Przemyslaw Wacha (POL)

Sun, Aug 14 1.05am – Heather Olver/Lauren Smith (GBR) v Poon Lok Yan/Tse Ying Suet (HKG)


Sun, Aug 14 2.05pm – Rajiv Ouseph (13) (GBR) v Sho Sasaki (JPN)

Sun, Aug 14 11.30pm – Kirsty Gilmour (11) (GBR) v Linda Zetchiri (BUL)

Recent posts

Back to news